Simple event reminder – Sydney Theatre Company

One of my 2009 goals is to attend four plays that the Sydney Theatre Company organise. To make sure I do actually attend, I was looking around their site to see what plays I want to see. While I was searching, I came across a great email reminder tool. After three easy actions (performance time, email address and reminder details), a reminder is set up for you.

Sydney Theatre Company - Play Details

Sydney Theatre Company - play details

Sydney Theatre Company - Reminder Pop Up

Sydney Theatre Company - reminder pop up

Sydney Theatre Company - Reminder Pop Up Details

Sydney Theatre Company - reminder pop up details

Once the reminder has been submitted ‘send’ a confirmation email is sent (see below). It is only a simple text email, but it does what it needs to.

Sydney Theatre Company - confirmation email

Sydney Theatre Company - confirmation email

As soon as the reminder email has been sent, I will update this too.

DISCLAIMER

I know this functionality is nothing new, but it wasn’t something that I expected on the Sydney Theatre Company’s website. I was pleasantly surprised and love that it is encouraging users to go back to the website (generating repeat traffic).

POSSIBLE USES

  • Dental reminders
  • Event reminders (personal or
  • Service reminders

ENHANCEMENTS

  • Calendar inclusion – ability to include the event in your preferred calendar client.

SUMMARY

This is a very simple feature that ensures people remember something they have purchased or signed up to. Things I love: you don’t have to be logged into the site or have even purchased tickets to use the feature.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
One Response to Simple event reminder – Sydney Theatre Company

  1. Greg Beazley says:

    It’s a shame you’re not with us any longer. I would’ve suggested this could be useful for ‘yes’ Tickets…woops, too late…

Leave a Reply

